11 books to read about activism that will inspire you

11 books about activism to inspire you

11 books about activism to inspire change (and you!)

Activism has a long history in the United States for exerting positive social change, and it is important to remember that you can make a difference. Not only that, but fighting for what you believe in will eliminate feelings of powerlessness. There can be no change without action.

Moss’ mother in Anger is a Gift said: “Anger is a gift. Remember that…You gotta grasp on to it, hold it tight and use it as ammunition. You use that anger to get things done instead of just stewing in it.” 

Here are 11 books about activism to inspire you.

  1. I Am Malala: The Story of the Girl Who Stood Up for Education and Was Shot by the Taliban by Malala Yousafzai (Goodreads)
  2. When They Call You a Terrorist: A Black Lives Matter Memoir by Patrisse Khan-Cullors, asha bandele, , Angela Y. Davis (Goodreads)
  3. No Is Not Enough: Resisting Trump’s Shock Politics and Winning the World We Need by Naomi Klein (Goodreads)
  4. On Tyranny: Twenty Lessons from the Twentieth Century by Timothy Snyder (Goodreads)
  5. This Is an Uprising: How Nonviolent Revolt Is Shaping the Twenty-First Century by Mark Engler, Paul Engler (Goodreads)
  6. Our Revolution: A Future to Believe In by Bernie Sanders (Goodreads)
  7. How I Resist: Activism and Hope for the Next Generation by various contributors (Goodreads)
  8. Civil Disobedience and Other Essays by Henry David Thoreau (Goodreads)
  9. Letter from the Birmingham Jail by Martin Luther King Jr (Goodreads)
  10. What We Do Now: Standing Up For Your Values in Trump’s America by various contributors (Goodreads)
  11. We Will Not Be Silent: The White Rose Student Resistance Movement That Defied Adolf Hitler by Russell Freedman (Goodreads)

This of course is not an exhaustive list but does encompass some of the most popular “activism” books based on Goodreads ratings, many of which I have read myself.

I do want to mention that I did my best to draft this post without bias as much as possible as I strongly believe that every person – even those with different views from my own – has the right to peacefully assemble and protest. Literature surrounding activism seems to fall decidedly left, and while that is where my leanings fall, it is not my intention to ostracize people with differing opinions.

I am always open for dialog and debate from differing viewpoints, but please be respectful when doing so.


What do you think of this list; have you read any of these or did you add any to your TBR? Is there anything that you think I missed?


spacer

Let’s Connect!

Twitter Bloglovin’ Goodreads Pinterest

14 thoughts on “11 books to read about activism that will inspire you

  1. Oh these sound great! I’m looking to read more nonfiction and so i’ll definitely have to refer to this list because I love this topic! thanks so much for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is a very interesting topic 🙂 I have heard of some of these (mostly just I Am Malala), but I think it’s because not all of them are released where I live – some of these will be pretty localized, I bet. Very relevant in today’s situation, though!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Definitely a lot of these look at the US situation and are applicable here, and that is a good point. Do you have any more international books that I should include? I Am Malala was an incredible read and I would love to find more stories like that.

      Like

  3. Pingback: Mid-Year Book Freakout Tag 2018 – Reader Voracious Blog

Comments are closed.