My 24 in 48 Readathon Goals & TBR

I am nothing if not an impulsive overachiever, so when my buddy over at Bibliophile’s Binge posted on Twitter that she was taking part in the 24 in 48 Readathon this weekend (like it begins in 13 hours) I decided that this is a challenge I want to conquer.

24 hours of reading in a 48 hour period.

This is an ambitious goal but I have a clear social calendar this weekend and a pile of books that I want to read, so now seems like the perfect time. This also seems like a fun way to knock some reading out of the way for a greater goal (to hopefully alleviate self-imposed “chore” feelings).

48 total hours – 16 hours sleeping – 24 hours dedicated reading = 8 hours remain

I like that there will be some time available for me to play video games or get sucked into Youtube this weekend, so that way I don’t feel guilty when I inevitably take breaks! Assuming that I read one page every 2 minutes (which I think is generous as I am a fast reader), that means I should be able to read a total of 720 pages in a 24 hour period.

My first read will definitely be Contagion as I want to post my review on Sunday (oops) and I decided to create a mood-reading TBR for the rest of those pages!

  1. Contagion, 432 pages [Science Fiction, Horror]
  2. Spinning Silver, 480 pages [Fantasy, Retellings]
  3. The Dark Beneath, 320 pages [Mystery, Horror]
  4. Bellewether, 414 pages [Historical fiction, Magical Realism]
  5. The Afterlife of Walter Augustus, 261 pages [Fantasy, Paranormal]

You can follow me along this ambitious endeavor on Twitter this weekend, but if you have better things to do than monitor my tweets (I forgive you), I will include a wrap-up in my July in Review post.


spacer_w

Let’s Connect!

Twitter Bloglovin’ Goodreads Pinterest

29 thoughts on “My 24 in 48 Readathon Goals & TBR

  1. Pingback: Tag: 90s Kid Book Tag – Undercover Binge Reader

  2. I’m so glad your post inspired me to join – I’ve already done 2 hours of reading and I’m so excited haha! I love your TBR! I’m just trying to whittle away at the books I was already reading, for the most part. I’m not sure if I will start anything new this weekend or not. The 7-in-7 readathon starts Monday, so ideally, if I can finish all of my current reads by Sunday night, I’ll be start for the 7-in-7!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I am so honored that my post inspired you to join in (and I love that I am not the only one joining in last minute in a moment of gusto!) and I am so excited to read with you this weekend! 7 – in – 7 wasn’t on my radar, I will have to check it out! Good luck wrapping up all of your current reads, Destiny! 💖

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Ooh, nice list! How’s it going? 🙂
    Knowing myself, i couldn’t read more than 2 books, but even those would be a challenge unless they are super short…

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: My Bad Reading Habits Tag – Another Book in the Wall

  5. Pingback: July in Review – Reader Voracious Blog

  6. Pingback: My Favorite 2018 Reads – Reader Voracious Blog

Comments are closed.